Motorcycle Shelter

“We’re not going through the zoning variance nightmare again.”

It required a variance to have our house sitting 20 feet into the front setback. The back of it sits on top of a cliff. We have a gravel driveway and really no room for a garage even with a variance.

Getting the F650 created the problem of how to keep it out of New Hampshire weather. I want to ride it year ’round, as long as the roads are dry and the temp is above freezing. The solution this winter is a homemade frame with a tarp over it. IMG_0685

IMG_0680

Inexpensive Motorcycle Shelter

The frame is a 2 x 4 across the top with 1×6 legs forming an upside down U shape, tilting slightly. There is a 1×6 hinged strut that extends over the front tire. I had to put a rock on the inside of that strut to keep it from moving toward the bike in a high wind. The mirrors sit just outside the frame and don’t need to fit between the legs. There are some extensions at the top sticking out over the bike slightly to help drape the tarp and provide a resting place when the tarp is rolled up. My tarp wisdom says you don’t want water pooling on the tarp. A also cut some vent holes near the top on the sides to vent out moist air.

The tarp is a 12′ x 16′ Brown and Silver reversible from Lowes. The brown is so much better than blue, for example. It blends in with the surroundings, as seen from the street.IMG_0688

I can now walk up to it and flip up the tarp and roll the bike back out. And the reverse when I put it away. The tarp doesn’t snag on anything, keeps the water out, and keeps gravel from splashing up onto the tires when it rains. My regular bike cover is now used when I might need to cover the F650 away from home.

I added some heavy rocks to hold down the tarp to keep it from blowing over. If the shelter blows over, it could take the bike with it, depending on how vertical (unstable) it is sitting.

The shelter is intended to be temporary until I can build a small shed behind the front setback line to store the bike and snowblower. I had all the parts laying around except the tarp. I like my $32 shelter.